Summary: And we’re outta here

The reason for creating this infographic was to clearly and interestingly represent the process of the hero’s journey. Firstly, I attempted to help portray the progression of the hero’s journey through the use of colour. I started with grey for the first step because it represents the the ordinary world is dull and boring. Then, as the process progresses the colour blue is introduced to represent a vibrancy and change from the status quo. In the special world segment of the image the colours change from softer and cooler colours of green and blue to colours that have connotations of danger and fear. The yellow used in the ‘Test, Allies, Enemies’ phase is used to represent a hazard because this is the first step in the narrative where the hero is faced with the challenges of the special world. I used increasingly darker shades of orange for the rest of the special world segment to convey tension and danger of these phases. From the ‘Road Back’ onward, I used the more purple tones to represent how the events experienced within the special world have changed the ordinary world as the purple is a sort of mix between the cooler and hotter colour tones. From what i had learned in my research, I found that because I had used such a wide range of colours throughout my image I had to stick to shades rather than colours for the rest of it so that it doesn’t appear too busy.

In order to clearly show the starting point of the process I applied several different techniques. Firstly, I made the title box come down to a point so that it would be pointing at the ordinary world stage. Because I learnt that people will often immediatley either look at the centre of an image or the top, I also applied a similar shade of grey to the ordinary world inner ring. Also with the repetition of the text in both the inner circle and the outer circle I thought this would also help to make it clearer.

Because of the ‘leave and return’ nature of the hero’s journey I thought it would be right to visually present it this way too. In order to make sure people got the order of events correct I lay it out in the clockwise direction as this is the way that many of us are trained to ‘read’ circles. To help this further I added curvatures to point the eye in the correct direction. Another visual technique I employed was the use of a connecting line between the title, the subject and the bottom information to help lead the eye sequentially through the composition. The size and shape of the bottom box was also used to help provide balance to the image so that either side of the process wheel there was visually similar features to help frame it. I also a few different objects such as the lance and the dragon’s tail to point to the objects that were most important within the image.

 

Leave a Reply

